From left: Damian Stone, Dame Fran Wilde, Antony Royal, Don Rangi, Tricia Walbridge, Caroline Mareko
From left: Damian Stone, Dame Fran Wilde, Antony Royal, Don Rangi, Tricia Walbridge, Caroline Mareko

Our Trustees

Damian Stone (Chair)

Damian is a partner in the law firm Kahui Legal. Specialising in commercial law, he has been in corporate and private practice since 1997 and is a recognised expert in Treaty of Waitangi matters, including acting as General Counsel for the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission. Damian contributes legal expertise and advice to the trust, on legal structures, contracts, and a range of associated commercial matters.

Antony Royal (founding Chair)

Ngāti Tamaterā, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngā Puhi Born in Auckland and brought up in the Hutt Valley, Antony has a degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Auckland University. Antony has worked in the ICT sector for more than 20 years, both in the government and private sectors, on diverse projects, including with government ministries in finance, health and education. Antony’s has worked as Information Systems Manager for Te Puni Kokiri, Systems Architect for development of Health Informatics and payment processing systems and as Regional IS Manager, Global Infrastructure Manager and Web Development Manager for NZ Dairy Board (Fonterra). Since 1989, he has tutored at Te Wānanga o Raukawa, and has led a number of technology based educational initiatives. Antony is the Chair of Ngā Pu Waea, the Māori National Broadband Working Group reporting to the Minister of Māori Affairs and the Minister of Telecommunications. Ngā Pu Waea is particularly interested in developing skills and employment opportunities for Māori in the Telecommunications Sector. Previously he has sat on the board of 2degrees Mobile Ltd and currently sits on the Council of Whitireia and Weltec Polytechnic’s. Antony has long had an interest in economic development, particularly in the technology sector.

Tricia Walbridge

Tricia has been on the Te Mana O Kupe Trust Board since it was established in December 2013. In her professional life she is the Director of Development Strategy at Victoria University with a focus on fundraising. She is also a trustee of the Wellington Rotary Charitable Trust and was on the J R McKenzie Trust Board for 12 years. She has a strong commitment to community development, having worked prior to Victoria for the YWCA, the WEA and Corso. She has three adult children based in New York, Mexico and Auckland and is a keen cyclist and tramper.


Don Rangi Q.S.M

Ngati Porou ICANZ (now re-branded) [TA Retired] Born at the Waipiro Bay Hospital on the East Coast. Educated at Waiomatatini Native School (1946-1950) and Tiki Tiki Maori District High School (1951-1958). Don moved to Wellington in 1959 for employment prospects, commencing work as a Public Servant in the Treasury. He retired from the Treasury in 2013. He is Chaplain at the Capital Coast District Health Board, Wellington; and an Archdeacon of the Haahi Mihingare faith in Poneke Rohe.

Caroline Mareko

Appointed to the board in 2016, Caroline has a strong education background, with nearly 2 decades teaching experience in Porirua Primary Schools. She was appointed as the Pasifika Education Coordinator for the Central South Region for the Ministry of Education and later became a Review Officer for the Central Region in the Education Review Office. In 2010, Caroline was appointed the Pasifika Coordinator for the Wellington Region Free Kindergarten Association and is now the Senior Manager – Communities and Participation for the Association.